The Old Hall Verified Reviews

14 | Ely (Cambridgeshire)
View More Information

14 Reviews for The Old Hall

Recommended by 100% of couples · Write a Review

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of the Service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value for Money 5.0
  • Response time 5.0

Badges

  • C

    Charlotte & Ben Hallewell · Married on 16/11/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Best Venue & Staff for our November Wedding!

    We live around the corner from this beautiful wedding venue and had often discussed potentially getting married there one day! The reality was everything and more we had ever imagined!

    The staff were amazing throughout the day, all of them seemed to thoroughly enjoy every part and it felt like you were truly celebrating with friends not just staff! We had been told that Alex runs a tight ship, and thank god! Weddings are stressful but never once did we have to add worrying about timings or where to be or what to do in that!

    My tiny complaint with the venue is the morning... You aren't allowed in the Bridal suite until 11am... for a 1pm wedding this was a worry for a few weeks prior, luckily my suppliers were regulars at the Old Hall and timed everything perfectly - but I do feel like as breakfast is 8:30am you should be allowed in this room for 10am to really allow yourself to relax and enjoy the room and getting ready without moving around from marquee to room.

    Apart from that tiny moan, the wedding venue is gorgeous - the fires were the main reason I loved the idea of a winter wedding and being cosy whilst getting married - and everything in that respect was idyllic and exactly how I imagined. This is often photographed as the most amazing summer venue (and it is, I've been to a few summer weddings) but it is equally as gorgeous in the autumn/winter!


    My last point is that we were also invited to a 'Taster Event' 6 months before the wedding. This was AMAZING! Such a lovely extra and lovely to imagine how this will be when you're all dressed up in a wedding dress surrounded by friends and family.

    Sent on 24/01/2019

    The Old Hall's reply:

    Thank you Charlotte & Ben for your very kind words.
    I am thrilled that everything was more than you had imagined and thank you for taking the time to let us know how oyur day was.

    I am pleased you pointed out the timings as I take feedback as a gift and very much enjoy hearing from our couples after the day.

    However I just wanted you to know that the 11am into the bridal suite is based on a check out time of 10am giving the housekeeping team 1 hour to clean and turn the bedroom around.
    Sadly if it was earlier than 10am it would mean you would need to have breakfast by 8am and check out by 10am for us to prepare this ready for your bridal preps.
    You might agree with me the morning after the wedding you would appreciate a little extra time asleep before having to get up for breakfast with a late night before.

    We all wish you both the very best for the future and please do keep in touch.
    Much love Alex and Team xx
  • E

    Claire Ayles · Married on 24/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect!!

    I could not recommend the Old Hall Ely highly enough, from day one their professional customer service and genuine care for us and our wedding really shone through. We were planning our wedding from Australia and the team made every step so easy and stress free.
    From the moment we stepped foot in the venue on the wedding day any pre wedding stress and nerves completely vanished as the staff took care of every little detail!
    The food, service, care and attention to detail really was second to none. They made our day so special, I can't thank them enough.
    All our guest on the day and week following kept praising the staff and repeating how lovely the venue was.

    Sent on 30/09/2017
  • H

    Becci Brown · Married on 05/11/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing Venue. Perfect.

    My husband and I got married at The Old Hall in November, and we couldn't have been happier. The staff were amazing and couldn't do enough for us (especially Amy who not only ensured the day went perfectly, but dealt with anything and everything on the day and even the following morning - she went completely above and beyond and we will never be able to thank her enough!). From the first meeting and right down to the smallest details, we had complete confidence that they had everything in hand and this allowed us to completely relax and enjoy our day! The food was incredible, and the rooms were amazing - we couldn't reccomend them highly enough!

    Sent on 16/12/2016
  • T

    TBR · Married on 26/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Robbed

    While the venue is absolutely stunning and the staff were fantastic that doesnt make up for the fact that we were robbed out of all the money we paid for our food!!! I wouldnt even put their chef forward for a job at mcdonalds. What we were served at our tasting session was fabulous, but what we received on the day was a disaster. Everything was different to what we had tasted, presentation was different taste was completely different and some items we had tasted werent anywhere to be seen! After complaining we were fobbed off with ridiculous excuses and were then told the chef that done our tasting quit before the wedding and they thought it ok to change items on our menu without even informing us!! Our portion sizes werent even big enough to satisfy a three year old. After a couple of emails back and forth the father replied (who we'd not met once during our preparations) basically saying 'i am not offering you a solution and if you want to take it further contact my solicitors)!!!!! I have read other reviews about his rudeness and unwelcoming attitude. He's clearly in the wrong business. For the amount of money you pay for food at a wedding you expect it to be 10/10. We gave them a chance to rectify it and didnt so if you want to be 100% guaranteed you will get what you're promised dont go with these con artists!!!

    Sent on 28/09/2016
  • T

    Talieh · Married on 20/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The most beautiful location with the most professional staff. Everything ran with military profession so I didn't have much to stress about. Friends loved the venue so much that they have also booked it for family members wedding. I can't fault it at all. Having the whole place to ourselves was the winning factor.

    Sent on 21/09/2016
  • H

    Hannah and Mark · Married on 20/07/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect!

    We got married here recently on Sunday 10th July and it couldn't have been more perfect! The staff right from the word go were beyond amazing and on the day made sure everything ran exactly as it should! The beauty of the venue speaks for itself, with every one of our guests commenting on how it was the most beautiful wedding venue they'd ever seen. Above that, the staff made it for us - nothing was too much trouble! A special thank you to Amy too - from Mr & Mrs Barry x

    Sent on 28/07/2016
  • H

    Hyndman · Married on 09/07/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Highly Recommended

    My son was married at the Hall July 14th 2016, Thank you to Alex and all her staff for providing such a beautiful place right on our doorstep. The whole day was very well organised, everything went to plan, food, wine, rooms, facilities amazing.

    Location, view of the Cathedral excellent, gardens wonderful, the old hall building decorated in a very tasteful manner, my style of decor, I know a lot of work has gone into this venue especially with the new bedrooms added.

    Once again a big thank you from the Hyndman, Roe and Finn Families, also a big thank you from all of the wedding guests, they all said it was wonderful, magical unbelievable.

    Highly recommended.

    Sent on 28/07/2016
  • N

    Neil · Married on 17/06/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Family Wedding

    We stayed at The Old Hall for a cousin's for two nights the building is restored to a beautiful condition the roos we stayed in was nicely furnished and spacious, comfortable bed and beautiful en suite bathroom with bath and shower.
    The breakfast in the morning was excellent, continental and cooked, in a lovely setting over looking the garden. The grounds were well laid out with lakes and patio area. The evening party was in a permanent marquee with dance floor.
    A lovely wedding in a lovely setting.

    Sent on 28/07/2016
  • K

    Krista Leigh · Married on 06/02/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Photographer

    I shot my most recent wedding at The Old Hall and I was so impressed by everything; from the courteousness of the staff to the upkeep of the grounds, the picturesque feel of the building to the absolutely delicious food. The marquee where the reception was held was simply beautiful, and it really made my role as the photographer all the more easy to carry out. I will definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a great venue in the Cambridgeshire, Suffolk, and Norfolk areas!

    Sent on 28/07/2016
  • E

    Elaine, Bride’s mum · Married on 24/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Magnificent

    Magnificent in every respect - do not look anywhere else for your wedding venue. If you are looking for the most amazing wedding venue with the most professional team then look no further than the Old Hall in Ely. Alex and the whole staff were simply incredible. As the mother of the Bride I cannot thank the staff enough and cannot heap enough praise upon this Wedding Venue. Rooms are first class, clean and luxurious. The whole wedding event was staged to perfection and the weather was wonderful for October enabling us to make the most of the fabulous grounds. The wedding was handled with clockwork precision and every member of staff went the extra mile to make the day the most incredible experience. This is exactly what you want for your daughter’s wedding.

    Sent on 28/07/2016