The Earl of Doncaster Hotel Verified Reviews

70 | Ullswater (Cumbria)
View More Information

70 Reviews for The Earl of Doncaster Hotel

Recommended by 100% of couples · Write a Review

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of the Service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value for Money 5.0
  • Response time 5.0

Badges

  • L

    Liam Kippax · Married on 26/10/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From start to finish the experience was PERFECT!

    I can’t thank the owner/staff enough at the Earl of Doncaster hotel, my wife and I fell in love with the venue on the 26th of October 2018 when we booked a room for the night after a day out, while we were in the search for a wedding venue. Although we arrived late on that evening the staff were so nice and showed us around your stunning venue..... we knew right away that it was the one!
    A year later to the day I stood, slightly nervous, waiting at the front of a beautifully dressed room ahead of my friends and family and waiting for my wife (for a long time.... may I add) to eventually walk down the aisle to greet me and exchange our vows.
    From start to finish the whole experience of The Earl of Doncaster hotel has been perfect, from the food, the help with planning, the staff (huge shout out to Leanne!), the rooms were/are amazing, the general service..... I couldn’t ask for more, you made us both so happy... The owner of the hotel even arrived to greet us on the day of the wedding and followed this up by coming to see me, to see how the day went the following morning at breakfast (when I looked a little worse for wear!).
    My friends and family all spoke so highly of the venue and service the received throughout our magical day, they were all hugely impressed!
    All in all I’m now happy married to my gorgeous wife and reflect back to our perfect weekend with fond memories of the Earl.
    Thank you!

    Sent on 31/10/2019
  • A

    Amy & Jamie · Married on 06/07/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wedding day! Great day!

    Had a fantastic day! The staff added to the wow factor by making sure we were happy throughout the day. Would definitely recommend to anyone, any occasion. The bridal suite was fantastic and have already said i would like to stay there again for our anniversary.

    Sent on 15/07/2019
  • K

    Kelly Dyson · Married on 27/10/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding day

    We loved every second of our wedding reception at the Earl, nothing was too much trouble for the staff and the venue is beautiful. Such a different vibe from places you usually see. Everyone still talks about how fantastic our day was, and how smoothly everything ran. Wish we could do it all again! Kelly & Ryan Dyson

    Sent on 03/06/2019
  • M

    Mrs Sharon Hill · Married on 01/09/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding day

    Wow what can I say I spent the Friday to Sunday at this hotel for our wedding and it was unbelievable. I had afternoon tea with all the ladies on the Friday evening. The attention to detail from start to finish was spot on. The decor in the ballroom for our meal and disco was exactly as we had wanted. I had a lady who came to add the colour theme to our tables at the Earl and she was treat with the upmost respect I would recommend this lady to anyone. The staff at the Earl Of Doncaster were very attentive. Thank you so much for making our wedding the best day of our lives.... Will be back for anniversary that's for sure.

    Sent on 04/06/2019
  • J

    James Cureton · Married on 24/09/2016

    4.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value for Money:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Nice hotel with a couple of bad points.

    I was a guest of a couple who got married yesterday, 24th September.
    Very nice venue but had a couple of bad points.
    The first one was leading into the upstairs venue there were 3 stairs and no handrail. Being disabled it is a bit of a struggle.
    By far the worst thing and in my opinion makes this hotel not worthy of its 4 star rating was the lift with an "Out of order" sign on it.
    After struggling up the stairs at the beginning of the evening and again coming down at the end, I noticed that the staff were actually using this lift and that there was nothing wrong with it.
    When I complained immediately I was told that the lift did not stop quite flush with the floors as it was going up. It was a bit more flush than a full staircase.
    Other guests who were staying were told that it keeps breaking down between floors.
    Absolute rubbish. It was used as a staff convenience.
    This in my opinion borders on disability hate crime and at best makes the hotel not worthy of its 4 star rating.

    Sent on 25/09/2016
  • B

    Big Skodes

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fantastically Maintained Throughout

    As we pulled up to the Hotel I really had no idea of what delights lay inside. The Hotel is fantastically maintained throughout.

    It's like walking into a 1930's New York building. Fantastic rooms and attentive staff. Will definitely visit again.

    Sent on 23/06/2016
  • T

    Tommy J

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Unique Surroundings

    Over from Ireland on a family visit staying at The Earl of Doncaster. We had lunch today in the unique surroundings of the Art Deco Restaurant.

    As a Chef I look for the finer things in a restaurant and of course the earl has it. The one to one detail of the waitress serving a simple bread roll with a spoon and fork to the chefs home made crispy chicken goujons.

    I had Caesar salad served as it should be. If your in Doncaster check out the earl of Doncaster for a spot of lunch. Well worth a visit. Well done to the chef and all concerned

    Sent on 22/06/2016
  • T

    Tattoo Jo

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing Friendly People

    We stayed at the Earl on the 14th May for my cousins 25 Wedding Anniversary. The hotel did a fabulous job with the room the food etc.

    The staff are amazing friendly people. We booked a junior suites which we were totally chuffed with.

    Breakfast was also beautiful and we had a bit of it all. Would we stay there again definitely. And yes I recommend it to anyone.

    Sent on 21/06/2016
  • D

    Donald Michael K

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Terrific Place

    Had a stand at the Earl of Doncaster last Sunday and what a terrific place this is.

    Done in Art Deco style, the ballroom is even better than when I did mobile discos here in the 70's and the Concorde suite was where I and my wife had our wedding breakfast in 1984.

    Staff were all friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

    Looking forward to working at this gem right in the middle of Doncaster

    Sent on 17/06/2016
  • D

    DinkyJo

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Will be going back

    from start to finish this was an enjoyable stay.

    From a well furnished room to staff who go above and beyond to ensure your needs are met.

    It is spotlessly clean and the breakfast we had was fresh and very tasty. Will be going back.

    Sent on 03/06/2016