The Coopers Arms Verified Reviews

28 | Nr. Derby (Derbyshire)
View More Information

28 Reviews for The Coopers Arms

Recommended by 100% of couples · Write a Review

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of the Service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value for Money 5.0
  • Response time 5.0

Badges

  • P

    Philip J Grimshaw · Married on 26/10/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A Venue which sets the Benchmark for Others

    We wanted a traditional family wedding which catered for the full range of guests from the grandparents of the groom who were almost ninety down to the bride’s nephew who was three years old. The range of rooms perfectly fulfilled this requirement, whether you were mingling by the bar, relaxing in the lounge or hitting the dance floor. We booked a photobooth which was placed in the buffet area next to the bar and therefore easily accessible to all guests which formed a link between the end of the wedding breakfast and the start of the evening reception. At a wedding in the summer service of the meal was poor since the top table had finished their starters, whereas some tables had not even received theirs. Not so with the Coopers, where every table had its own waitress ensuring the food was served timely and hot. This high level of service is due to the close involvement of Amy Cooper, who greeted us as we entered, oversaw the whole event and was still there when we left at 1:00 am the following morning. This reflects the personal involvement of a member of the Cooper family who own the venue, rather than a salaried employee styled as a “Wedding Co-ordinator”. A further example is, since it was raining the guests were inside the whole time and were drinking slightly more Prosecco than we had anticipated. I was concerned that we may run out, but a quick word with Amy ensured that glasses continued to be topped up to the start of the meal. This was entirely on trust since we had already paid the account, reflecting again the discretion and decision making ability of a family member. All in all a fabulous event and a venue we would highly recommend

    Sent on 29/10/2019
  • J

    Jade & John Phillips · Married on 30/08/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect Venue for our wedding

    We got married at the Coopers Arms on Friday 30th August! From start to finish the communication, organization and support Amy and James provided was on point. The venue is not only gorgeous on the outside with the stunning lake but also the decor on the inside is beautiful too. The food we had was a buffet for the wedding breakfast and carvery in the evening and it was better than I could have ever expected. Absolutely gorgeous! Amy honestly couldn’t have done enough for us, supporting with last minute changes and on the day making sure we were all looked after. She even boxed everything up for us to collect the next day. I’d highly recommend having your big day here, you won’t regret it! Mr & Mrs Phillips

    Sent on 27/09/2019
  • J

    Joe Nuttall · Married on 15/06/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A perfect Day

    We had our wedding at The Coopers Arms in June and we genuinely can't fault the service they provided. Right through from the moment we got prices / viewed the function rooms to the moment we got in our taxi as husband and wife, they were superb.

    The Coopers has a lovely room which looks out onto the lake at the back, with exposed wooden beams and rustic brickwork. We managed to fit 70 people in comfortably. Amy (the events coordinator at The Coopers) helped us with music, coordinating guests and making sure everything ran as smoothly as possible

    The compliments we've had from guests on the food have been endless. The service was sublime, as was the food. They have a team of well trained staff that were sharp and the food was delicious, well presented, hot... genuinely lovely.

    The function rooms at the Coopers are a series of separate rooms (on one floor) that all link together. The main party room was more than ample and is a lovely room. Off this room there are a few smaller rooms as well as a balcony outside. Whilst the dancers were dancing away on the dance floor, there was plenty of space for others to sit and chat. They have a wide range of drinks on offer and also got in a pale ale that we'd specifically requested. At all times during the day Amy oversaw all aspects of the event to ensure it all went as planned.

    Overall we couldn't be happier. The Coopers feels upmarket but without being aloof or snooty. The pricing reflects this too (they don't rinse you just because it's a "wedding"). It's also got a beautiful lake in the grounds for photos... so glad we chose there for our special day! :)

    Sent on 01/07/2019
  • M

    Mr & Mrs Tester · Married on 20/04/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wedding Day at the Coopers Arms

    Absolutely fantastic day, the staff were all so professional and helped in every way they could (even helping me with my dress and entertaining the kids ) Many of my guess came up to me to comment on Amy’s organisational skills and even the in house DJ was one of the best DJ’s I’ve seen. So glad I decided to have my wedding at the Coopers Arms.

    Sent on 23/04/2019
  • M

    Mr & Mrs Bull · Married on 19/04/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect wedding

    Amy and the team at The Coopers Arms were the perfect hosts for our Easter wedding. Brilliantly organised and exquisite catering in a beautiful setting. The day couldn’t have gone any better. If you are looking for a venue to host your wedding you won’t go far wrong with The Coopers Arms.

    Sent on 27/04/2019
  • K

    Katy & Darren · Married on 08/12/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wedding December 8th 2018

    A huge thank you to Amy and her team for the fantastic service provide from planning stages to the day itself. The day couldn’t have gone any better than we’d ever imagined. Attention to detail was excellent. Special thanks to Amy herself who runs a brilliant team

    Sent on 13/12/2018
  • C

    Chloe Goff · Married on 01/11/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    November 1st wedding

    Cannot thank everyone at this venue enough! It was amazing, they all made the day even more special. Amy was perfect from the planning stage to the actual day would recommend her and her venue ten times over to anyone.

    Sent on 07/11/2018
  • M

    Martin Booth · Married on 01/11/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    5 star venue

    My Daughter got married at the Coopers yesterday, Nov 1st & cannot thank the owners & staff enough for their impeccable service that made the day so great. This place gets 5 stars from me & if I could give more I would.... so many thanks to everyone

    Sent on 02/11/2018
  • L

    Lydia & Luke · Married on 02/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fabulous Wedding venue

    Our wedding was absolutely perfect as not only did we find the perfect venue, which was exactly what we were looking for; lots of character, beautiful wedding space inside and outside by the lake and a reputation for great food! But the help we received in helping to coordinate the day from start to finish was extremely helpful and stress free! Everything ran smoothly on the day thanks to Amy and her team. We had the best day and many of our guests have complimented us on what a lovely day it was and how the staff were all so friendly yet professional. Would highly recommend to anyone.

    Sent on 25/09/2017
  • H

    Helen Brookes · Married on 20/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wedding of Paul & Helen White

    Massive thanks to Amy Cooper and all of her staff for making our day so wonderful. Food and service superb, Amy's attention to detail is excellent. Would definitely recommend as a wedding venue.

    Sent on 26/08/2016