The Albert Square Chop House Verified Reviews

17 | Deansgate (Greater Manchester)
View More Information

17 Reviews for The Albert Square Chop House

Recommended by 100% of couples · Write a Review

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of the Service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value for Money 5.0
  • Response time 5.0

Badges

  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 16/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our Wedding Ceremony & Reception

    We recently had our ceremony and reception at the chop house, within the upstairs memorial hall. I had researched several venues prior to the chop house and upon meeting Lawrence I immediately felt very positive. Lawrence is an absolute credit to the business as I am sure they are aware. He is a charming, warm, friendly young man who is very good at his job. I felt so comfortable and at ease with Lawrence and his confidence that we allowed him to make several decisions about the whole day based on his recommendations. Without going overboard, we had the most amazing wedding. Our ceremony was intimate and beautiful, exactly as we wanted it to be. The venue is classy without being overbearing or pretentious. Lawrence will be involved as much or as little as you’d like him to be. We are both very impressed with this place and have been told by many of our guests how enjoyable the whole evening was. Thank you also to Marina who spent the whole day and evening with us to ensure it was perfect!

    Sent on 07/08/2018
  • J

    Joanne · Married on 25/05/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Here for our wedding day

    We got married here on the 25th May. From the moment we decided on the venue it was all so easy. Before the wedding we met Lawrence and made arrangements for the menu etc. On the day Marine was amazing and everything went beautifully. The service was so attentive from all of the staff and the food was excellent. Several of the guests that had not been there before are booking another visit. Thank you to everyone at the Albert Square Chop House!

    Sent on 07/08/2018
  • D

    Daniel · Married on 12/05/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our Wedding Party

    The Memorial Hall is a light and airy room with great windows framing the surrounding streets of Manchester and Albert Square. We had 40 wedding guests seated around 5 round tables which felt great in the space, but the room could take more. We had enough room for a band and dance floor. We also had use of the Thomas Worthington Suite throughout the event which gave our guests extra room to roam and chat.

    The food was the usual Chop House standard, interesting twists on English food, done well with delicious wines to accompany. We had lots of positive comments from our guests who clearly enjoyed eating the menu of their choice.

    Lawrence was always supportive, making good suggestions and responded promptly to any queries, throughout we felt confident that our Wedding Party would be a success. However, the thing that made the event on the night was the Chop House staff who worked the event. The whole evening went like clockwork due to their professionalism and a genuine desire for you to have a great time. They are friendly, engaging and fun. We certainly had a lot of fun and a great Wedding Party.

    Sent on 07/08/2018
  • A

    Andrew · Married on 10/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wedding Reception in the Memorial Hall

    We booked the Memorial Hall for our wedding reception and had a great time. The food was excellent, the service faultless. All of our guests commented on how much they enjoyed the whole day. A day, I might add, which was made as stress-free as possible for us by the excellent planning, organisation and implementation of the Albert Square Chop House staff. I would recommend this highly (and it's just across the road from the Register Office!)

    Sent on 07/08/2018
  • E

    Emma · Married on 11/11/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stunning from Start to Finish

    Just had our wedding reception there and it surpassed all of my new wife and my expectations.

    The canapés during our time downstairs we’re to die for, the wedding breakfast is still getting talked about today (the beef......!! Wow!) and the buffet was perfect.

    I think what really stands this place apart is the service. Every member of staff did absolutely everything for us. Dannii was always there making sure we were ok, Marine was brilliant and special mention goes to Jess who requested that she worked after our menu tasting night!! Finally, Lawrence has been an absolute star from the very beginning. He helped us plan and then delivered the very best day we’ve ever had. He kept us calm when we were stressing, made us feel like and King and Queen all the way through and is an absolute expert at what he does. Thank you!!

    The Albert Square Chop House is a true Manchester institution and we’re so proud we had our special day there. We’re going back for every major party we have.

    Sent on 20/12/2017
  • M

    Mandy · Married on 14/10/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect Wedding Day

    When we choosing our wedding venue we had very set ideas about what was important to us. To my husband, it was the food and the wine. For me, it was a quirky city centre location. Albert's Chophouse is in one of my favourite parts of Manchester and we've enjoyed eating there many times in the past, so it was an obvious contender for our big day.

    Lawrence, the wedding coordinator, was fantastic. Planning a wedding is a long-winded affair and he was there for us every step of the way, even when the transformation into Bridezilla started at the end when the nerves kicked in!

    The food - well, just amazing! So many people told us afterwards it was the best food they have ever had at a wedding.When we were looking around potential wedding venues early on, lots of places were very fixed about what they would and would not allow. Albert's Chophouse even let us have an owl deliver our rings! One of the highlights of the day for lots of our guests I think!

    Sent on 20/12/2017
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 27/05/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wedding Venue

    We got married and held our reception meal and evening party at Albert's. We couldn't have been happier with the service provided by Lawrence in the planning stages and then the team on the wedding day. We had initially planned a 'big' wedding elsewhere and about 6 months before the day decided that we wanted to change everything to a small intimate wedding. Lawrence was great at helping us plan this as we didn't want all the fuss and stress that can surround a wedding. Lawrence was brilliant at advising things and was never pushy, he's a credit to the Chop house company! We had the Thomas Worthington suite during the day where 14 of us had a lovely meal, everyone has commented on how great the food was. The room is beautiful as it is so we simply decorated the table, we loved it! Then in the evening we had a party in the memorial hall for 80 guests, another great room and lots of comments on it being a lovely venue. We served chip, bacon & sausauge butties in the evening, unfortately I didn't get a taste as I remained on the dancefloor all night but I have heard they were a hit! We had done our own table dressings so were delivering them the day before and one of the guys that worked there helped us get our things from the car. Marine was great on the day of the wedding, she regularly checked that we were happy with things and was happy to go with any additional requests we made on the day.
    I would like to finish by saying a huge thank you to all of the team, we had the best day and night, thank you!!!

    Sent on 20/12/2017
  • A

    Angelo · Married on 01/04/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our Wedding Reception

    We held our wedding reception in The Memorial Hall. Over the months leading up to the event Lawrence (the venue event planner) was excellent in guiding us through the choices leading up to the big day. The attention to detail and creative ideas were just what we were looking for, so choosing The Albert Chop House was a really easy decision.

    The quality of the service we received was second to none. During the event (which was over 12 hours long) the whole team were friendly and helpful, nothing was too much for them. We received feedback from friends and family on how much they enjoyed the event.

    The food we had arranged was perfect, canapes on arrival, later followed by a great quality (and quantity) buffet, and even nibbles in the evening. The bar had also been stocked with our favourites which was perfect. Special arrangements were made for those with dietary needs which was also very much appreciated.

    Thank you to the whole team who made the day even more special!

    Sent on 11/04/2017
  • J

    Jenna · Married on 06/01/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Where history is made

    Planning a wedding in Manchester when you live in Australia and only have 5 months to play with technically should be a very difficult task, not when Lawrence Hallows from the Albert Square Chop House is involved!

    From the get go, Lawrence was amazing in his approach to helping us plan our big day. In the planning phase, Lawrence spoke to us regularly on facetime and replied almost instantaneously to any queries we had - by text, email or phone.

    Lawrence sourced all our requests from his suppliers which took a massive wright off our minds

    Prior to the wedding the Albert Square Chop House team were happy to host my in laws for a pre-wedding food and wine tasting, their reviews were fantastic, which gave us a lot of confidence in our menu choices.

    On our wedding day, hubby and I were greeted at the door of the chop house by Lawrence who gave us each a complementary glass of champers. Thanks Lawrence! Lawrence's welcoming, relaxed yet professional stance really set the tone for the rest of the day and from then on everything ran seamlessly.

    The wedding breakfast and wines were delicious, we had so many rave reviews and we didn't see any empty plates!

    The Albert Square Chop House staff as a whole worked as a brilliant team, they seemed to know instinctively when to step forward and when to hang back. The staff were always right on cue just when we needed them.

    This summary gives the tiniest snapshot of the most wonderful day and evening. We have no doubt that our wedding day was as special as it was because of Lawrence and the team at the Albert's Words will never be enough to convey our gratitude to all of you!

    Sent on 11/04/2017
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 30/12/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    6 out of 5 stars

    We picked Albert's for our wedding reception because Lawrence was really warm and friendly and listened to all of the things we wanted to do on our big day and confirmed that they could do it for us (unlike other places we visited). We weren't tied to a package and we felt like nothing was too much trouble. We didn't feel like we were just a number to him which we also experienced when looking elsewhere.
    We loved the decor and feel of the entire place - cosy and a bit quirky and the reputation of great food also helped.
    The service we received in the run-up to our wedding day was brilliant, again nothing seemed like too much trouble.
    The day itself was perfect in every way. It all played out exactly as we'd discussed with Lawrence. The food was fantastic and all of the staff were brilliant - attentive and engaging. Lawrence arranged the DJ for us too, he was great and only to happy to cater to our every (random!) musical whim.
    We were confident that everything would go to plan but it exceeded our expectations in every way and I wish we could do it again!
    Thanks to Lawrence and all of the team for helping us have the best day ever.
    Cannot recommend highly enough!

    Sent on 11/04/2017