Weddings

Sporting Lodge Inns Reviews

Sporting Lodge Inns

Sporting Lodge Inns

Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire
Rating 4.6 out of 5, 18 reviews
View more information

18 reviews

Rating
4.6
out of 5.0
Recommended by 88% of couples
  • Quality of the Service
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
  • Response time
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Value for Money
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.7 out of 5

Badges

2 User photos

  • I
    Irene W. Married on 03/09/2021
    Rating 2.4 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.0 out of 5

    Disappointed

    Decorations poor table to sign wedding certificate and table for cake and back drops where
    really poor staff not friendly taken desserts away before even started on and offered no alternative told there would be a sweet cart but it was just a table
  • Benjamin
    Benjamin Q. Married on 20/07/2020
    Rating 1 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 1.0 out of 5

    Pleas think again before booking here

    My partner and I had booked a wedding package with this outfit for July 2020. Despite frequent changes in coordinator (they currently dont have one at all) and very little in the way of communication we thought all was looking ok as the time approached (We initially started the booking in 2018)

    When the lockdown began we realised we had backed the wrong horse. All efforts to reach them failed up until 2 months before the wedding when we managed to get in touch to be offered an alternative date. we stupidly agreed to move the wedding to the next year but had an uneasy feeling regarding the continued lack of communication or engagement from the coordinator regarding decoration, seating plans etc. Attempts to contact were fobbed of with claims that the person we wanted to speak to wasn't there or had left the business (seemingly a common occurrence for sporting lodge employees)

    As the 30 people restrictions showed no sign of being lifted we enquired about costing up a smaller event, we were told that this would be fine and to expect a price the next week......2 weeks later I ask again, again, by the middle of next week you'll have the price.

    My partner is a Nurse and I work in public transport so we have little time to be running after people to persuade them to let us spend money with them. So I asked to cancel in order to book a place that is actually geared up and has the staff to host wedding receptions.

    This is where things got nasty. Despite guidelines from the government saying that weddings which are cancelled due to the coronavirus should be given a full refund of any advance payments, and even without the virus the government guidelines say there should be no retaining of deposits that dosent reflect actual costs incurred by the cancellation, we were told repeatedly that the overseas owners of this establishment refuse to adhere to this and will retain the substantial deposit. Attempts to ask how 2 meetings with 2 different wedding coordinators could possibly cost £600 were met with a week long silence followed by rude and dismissive conduct by the general manager (Dean Long).

    So, to sum up, this venue is incredibly insensitive and would gladly screw over key workers for their own financial gain during a global pandemic. I genuinely hope no one else books with these unscrupulous characters and can only pray for the poor couples who'll have their money stolen if they need to cancel with the new 15 people limit in place.

    May I add that every other supplier from Cars to photographers...even the kids entertainment have been nothing but helpful and understanding
  • M
    Mr Married on 18/08/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The service from yourself and the staff on the day

    Hi natalie
    We had the most amazing day, we are so sad it’s all over, we both want to do
    It all again!
    The service from yourself and the staff on the day was outstanding,
    The manager is lovely and bent over backwards to make it a fantastic day!

    We would like to thank you all!
    Thank you
    Mr and Mrs Robertson (this name is going to take some getting use to hahah)
  • M
    Mr Married on 11/08/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    we had the most AMAZING day

    Natalie - just a very quick email before we head to to the airport but we just wanted to let you know that we had the most AMAZING day yesterday! It was everything that we had hoped for and more!! Thank you sooooo much for all your help in making our special day even more special! A big thank you to John who was absolutely fantastic and all the staff at the hotel who helped us with our big day.
    I'll send some photos but again thank you and everyone at the hotel.
    Nicola and Anthony xxxxxxxxxx
  • M
    Mr Married on 20/07/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    it was an amazing day

    Thank you so much for everything that you did it was an amazing day and I can't thank you enough
  • M
    Mr Married on 06/07/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    We had an amazing day

    Good morning Natalie,

    Thank you so much for your email and well wishes! We are just returning home now from honeymoon, I hope you enjoyed your week away!

    We had an amazing day and was really happy with how the day went, with the 2 ceremonies etc it seemed to flow really well. John was great in making sure things ran on time etc and we knew where we needed to be. Thank you so much again for all your help with arranging it :)
  • M
    Mr Married on 29/06/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    your staff were fantastic and made the day go perf

    Hi Natalie I hope you had a fabulous holiday.
    Thank you for your email the day was absolutely perfect, your staff were fantastic and made the day go perfectly, for everyone to keep coming up to us and telling us what a beautiful day they have had and how amazing the food and decoration was etc made everything worth while. I can't thank your team enough.
    I will certainly send in some pictures when he has got them back to us. Unfortunately he had to leave on the day due to a family emergency but he still managed to get a good 6 hours of our day. Other than that everything went super smoothly. I will highly recommend your wedding services.
    Kind regards
    Laura
  • M
    Mr Married on 23/06/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    it went perfectly!

    Hi Natalie,

    Thank you so much for organising our day it went perfectly!
    All our guest said how amazing the food was and how smooth the day ran. Also all the staff were great!
  • M
    Mr Married on 27/05/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    we really did have an amazing day

    Hi just wanted to drop you a quick email to say thank you to every one at the sporting lodge for making our day so special, we really did have an amazing day. Thanks to every member of staff, and a massive thank you to yourself for making the whole process easier for us. We have been and will continue to recommend you to every one that we know. Every one had such an amazing day, we were so happy with every thing. We attached some pics feel free to share them.

    Mr &Mrs Wootton
    ________________________________________
  • M
    Mr Married on 25/05/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The room looked amazing

    Hello Natalie

    Still seems strange saying Robinson haha.
    Thank you very much for everything and helping us with our wedding day which was just perfect. The room looked amazing. The food was lovely and everyone had a good day/night. Can't believe it's all over now and we have been married a week.
    My boys did steal the show and their did very well thought the ceremony and thought the day.
    I will send some photos once we get them back.

    Thank you to all the staff once again for making our wedding day so perfect and a day to remember

    Rachael & Kevin