Royal George Hotel Verified Reviews

15 | Gloucester (Gloucestershire)
View More Information

15 Reviews for Royal George Hotel

Recommended by 100% of couples · Write a Review

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of the Service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value for Money 5.0
  • Response time 5.0

Badges

  • M

    Martin · Married on 18/05/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our Wedding Day

    Our day arrived,and have to say first class ,staff extremely helpful couldn’t do enough for us.
    Food was good,plentiful everyone was happy when food came out.everywhere was clean we had a happy 2 night stay lovely breakfast.
    Overall a very lovely day & stay.

    Sent on 15/10/2019
  • C

    Caron · Married on 11/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wedding reception

    We have just had my son's wedding reception at the Royal George for nearly 70 people.The help we have had from the Nigel, the manager and his lovely wife was second to none. From the planning of the day to the actual wedding reception itself. They filled us with confidence in their ability to execute a beautiful effortless day and they did so perfectly . Any hiccup we had in our own planning, they were able to deal with , making everything so very stress free and worry free. The 3 course meal they served our guests was utterly beautiful, cooked perfectly and came out hot and quickly. Serving 70 people so effortlessly is a testament to the team that the manager has trained so well . The evening buffet was again faultless , very well cooked, and beautifully laid out, a feast for the eyes as well as the tummy !
    The staff were friendly efficient and very helpful . The Royal George gave the feeling of a very posh and expensive venue , while keeping the charm and friendly atmosphere of a beautiful country hotel, Very competitively priced and great value for money. The George is set in lovely grounds with a great outdoor space with a romantic gazebo for some beautiful wedding photographs .
    The rooms are spacious , very clean with large comfortable beds and pleasing neutral décor very tasteful. The morning breakfast was again faultless.
    I really couldn't have asked for any more from the Royal George for my son's wedding , they made it perfect , seamless and utterly faultless . I would highly recommend them to any one considering them as a wedding venue.

    Sent on 13/08/2018
  • E

    Emma · Married on 26/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Greatest day

    What an amazing place, we live just down the rd, my husband asked me out there, proposed to me there so we thought what a venue to get married at, I couldn’t have asked for more, the staff were amazing and friendly, I had all the help I needed especially as my uncle and father in law to be passed away 2 weeks before the wedding, they help us change tables and seating and nothing was to much trouble.
    On the morning of our day which was pretty emotional everything went smoothly, nearly all of our guests stayed the night before so no missing guests ?? the room was beautifully decorated the flowers arrived and the cake was put out.
    The chapel we got married in was stunning and bought tears to my eyes as did my amazing husband, the food was excellent and also the evening entertainment, I could not fault the Royal George one bit,

    Sent on 07/12/2018
  • G

    Gemma

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Awesome Wedding

    My partner and I had our civil partnership reception at the George in the Hanover suite, and I have to say it was amazing!! We were given access to the room nice and early in order to decorate just as we wanted and the staff worked around us with tables etc. The team were so helpful throughout from organising the evening and the evening itself. Our guests many of whom stayed in the hotel had a fantastic time and all enjoyed their evening and their stay at the hotel. All evening the staff especially Vicky and Hayley sorted out any queries problems we had and were a brilliant help throughout. The room was turned round efficiently and quickly ready for the dancing so guests felt no disruption and the night ran very smoothly. The disco that was recommended to us by the George was very good and played the very particular playlist we provided to him as requested. The upstairs bar was well stocked and well staffed all night so our guests were always with a drink. We would recommend this venue to anyone who wants a wedding to run smoothly, with very good staff and plenty of rooms for your guests to stay in. It was also very cost efficient which is not something you can say about a lot of wedding venues nowadays. Thank you to the whole of the team.

    Sent on 11/07/2012
  • B

    Bex

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dream Wedding

    My husband and I booked our wedding at the Royal George and had the most special day on June 8th. The Royal George was the perfect setting for our wedding. Mike and his team went out of their way to ensure we had the best day.
    During the build up to the big day they were very helpful and guided us through the process.
    On the wedding day itself they made sure that my husband didnt get an early glimpse of me as they hid him and our guests in the bar and ushered me upstairs as some guests were stuck in traffic!
    The weather was the only negative of our day, meaning that we didnt get to make use of the beautiful beer garden but my husband and I were given the honeymoon suite early so that we could have our photographs done.
    During the day Mike was very discreet making sure we were in the right place at the right times. Our friends and family have all said that they had a fantastic day and those who stayed overnight spoke very highly of the bedrooms and the breakfast provided to us in the morning.
    Thank you so much to all at The George for making our Wedding Day so incredibly special. We have left with memories that we will cherish forever.
    To anyone thinking of using the George for their wedding, don't hesitate, you will have the best day!

    Sent on 11/07/2012
  • H

    Haz87

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Idyllic wedding venue!!

    We got married at the Royal George in June and our day could not have been more perfect. Friendly and helpful staff ensured the day went off without a hitch. Beautiful ceremony room, great reception room, idyllic outside areas, lovely food and a fantastic DJ helped to ensure that we had a wedding we will never forget. Thank you!

    Sent on 21/06/2012
  • T

    Trace

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wedding Ceremony

    We got married here very recently, May 25th 2012. It was everything we dreamed of and more! Chris and his staff worked so hard and made everyone feel so relaxed. The Hanover suite where we held our wedding breakfast looked so beautful, Chris and the staff did an amazing job and got everything just perfect. The food was wonderful and all my guests commented on how lovely it was. The whole day was simply perfect and i cannot recommend the Royal George highly enough!!!!
    Thank you so much Chris for all your hardwork.

    Sent on 10/06/2012
  • M

    Melanie

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tim and I were married here on the 19th May 2012.
    Michael and his staff provided us with the most wonderful day.Every thing ran so smoothly and nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff.
    The Gainsborough Suite was such a romantic location for the service, our guests loved the relaxed ambiance of the hotel and quickly felt at home,
    The wedding breakfast was gorgeous and the quality of the food commented on by all. In the evening we had a disco and the dj could not have been more obliging.

    Most of our guests stayed overnight and so were able to enjoy the most fabulous breakfast on sunday morning.

    We were so pleased to have chosen the Royal George for our special day and would thoroughly recommend it to others

    Sent on 06/06/2012
  • R

    Rachel

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Brilliant place to stay or have a wedding

    Me and my husband got married here on the 26th august 2011, we had an amazing day. the grounds are beautiful and there is an out building where we had our wedding. The staff were friendly and really brilliant from the moment i arrived till the next day when we left. The room we stayed in was great, we had a four poster bed, was very clean, big bathroom and the breakfast was so good!

    If you were looking at this venue for a wedding or just staying the night i would 100% recommend the royal George hotel.

    Sent on 03/06/2012
  • A

    Alan

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Made our wedding day amazing for us

    We recently had our wedding day at the Royal George hotel. Mike and his team made sure the day ran without any hitches.
    The food was excellant and the service was efficent, always with a smile and nothing was ever too much trouble. All of our guests could not compliment the venue enough. We would definetly recomend the Royal Geoge as a wedding venue, restaurant and hotel. Many thanks Alan and Simone

    Sent on 03/06/2012