Skip to main content
Weddings

Nunsmere Hall Hotel Reviews

Nunsmere Hall Hotel

Nunsmere Hall Hotel

Hartford, Cheshire
4.6 out of 5 rating, 16 reviews
More information

Reviews

4.6 out of 5 rating
4.6 out of 5 rating
16 reviews
91% recommend it
  • Quality of the service
    4.5 out of 5 rating
  • Response time
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.5 out of 5 rating
  • Value for money
    4.5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.5 out of 5 rating

Badges

  • Karin
    Karin R. Sent on 28/05/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The wedding of our dreams

    We visited Nunsmere on a wedding open day - it was perfect for us. We booked our wedding the following day. Every step of the planning process was stress-free. The wedding team were responsive, professional and supported us in putting together the day we wanted. Our reception went like clockwork. The venue was stunning, the food was wonderful, the rooms were perfect and breakfast the next morning was a special way to end our celebrations. I couldn’t recommend Nunsmere highly enough. We had 130 guests in the marquee and the feedback from them has been glowing.
  • N
    Sanjeev Sent on 06/04/2024
    1.2 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    *AVOID for a wedding* especially larger weddings

    *AVOID for a wedding* especially larger weddings and *do not use the hotel bedrooms*. Terrible experience for our wedding in Aug 2023 and we wrote to the hotel management and were promised a reply but then nothing came. 6 months later and I’d rather warn couples DO NOT GET MARRIED HERE. It was really awful from a hotel management perspective.

    Here are the main issues we faced which caused undue stress on the day:
    -mother of the bride was made to swap bedrooms right before the ceremony started as she had been checked into the wrong room by hotel staff and told she had to immediately pack up and move rooms
    -numerous guests checked into the wrong bedrooms and then rudely told it was their fault
    -we were charged £10 each for guests who forgot to return their hotel key cards at checkout, I can find no written policy about this (but they take a £30 deposit for each bedroom which they seem to find some reason or other to not return!)
    -we had booked adjoining rooms for some guests with children but the staff couldn’t locate the key to open the adjoining doors
    -we had use of the library in the dry hire as a room for photos and for guests to relax in after the ceremony- it was full of stacks of chairs and storage from the wedding the day before so could not be used
    -when guests asked for directions or simple questions the hotel staff said they can’t answer as they are not involved in the wedding (which is true as it is dry hire but they can still tell an elderly guest which way to the marquee)

    Overall a really poorly managed hotel with some rude staff members - not fit for weddings the size it tries to host.
    They also run their weddings completely back to back so will be kicking your guests out on the dot at checkout even if they are just waiting in the lobby for their taxi.
    The grounds are nice for photos but that doesn’t make up for the rudeness towards guests and poor service.
    Using this venue made our wedding day infinitely more stressful than it needed to be.
  • illustration stars

    Did the reviews win you over?

    Send a message
  • Jess
    Jess H. Sent on 15/09/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best day of our lives at our dream venue

    On our first visit to Nunsmere we were blown away. Sian made us feel so relaxed and not pressured into any decisions and everything felt possible. The venue itself it’s pretentious it’s not over done it’s just quintessentially English beauty and we fell in love with it immediately. We felt very lucky to be able to secure a date and everything here on in was perfect and easy to organise with Sians help.
    We honestly couldn’t have asked for any more. The rooms are gorgeous, the food was delicious and nothing was too much trouble. The staff are all very professional and attentive and couldn’t be more helpful. Thank you so so much for making our wedding the most special day xx
  • Victoria
    Victoria T. Sent on 17/06/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Wedding Weekend Thanks To Nunsmere!

    We held our wedding at Nunsmere Hall over two days this past May — the first day being the wedding, and the second day having a BBQ with all our of friends and family. The team at Nunsmere was a dream to work with from start to finish. We planned our wedding from abroad, and they were so flexible with working with us whenever we could get over. The venue was so beautiful and the service throughout the entire weekend was above and beyond. We had the best weekend ever, and it wouldn't have been the same without being at Nunsmere!!
  • D
    Deborah M. Sent on 03/05/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing wedding day! - 31st March 2022

    We have had the most amazing wedding day at Nunsmere Hall. Our day ran so smoothly and all of our guests commented on how great it was, a few of them commenting that it was the best wedding they had ever been to! Everyone loved the food and the staff made the planning process so easy, particularly Erin, who helped us plan our perfect day and Clive, the Duty Manager, who made sure everything ran to plan!
    The venue is stunning and the accommodation is lovely and spacious. I would recommend anyone to have their wedding at Nunsmere Hall.
  • A
    Alison Sent on 25/03/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely stunning!

    I attended a wedding here back at the start of 2022 and it was a fabulous day for everyone! Would highly recommend!
  • A
    Amanda W. Sent on 29/12/2021
    1.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    Heartbreakingly disappointing

    We trusted Boutique Hotel Group with our special day at Nunsmere Hall, but here’s why we wish we didn’t!
    * Right from the start our wedding coordinator advised us she would be there on the day yet told us the day before the wedding that she would not be there, then after our day the Manager made it clear that the wedding coordinator is never present on the day?
    * There is usually a ramp outside the main entrance which is pretty unsightly and as we didn’t need to make use of it we asked that it would be removed which of course was agreed to no problem but on the day it was not removed and is now in our pictures, and will have affected the initial impression that our guests had when arriving at the venue.
    * The venue put their isle runner down for our ceremony, however we had paid for one to be installed by our venue dresser which Nunsmere were aware of. This may not have been a problem except it was sliding around and had to be taped down which looked unsightly, plus it was dirty, and of course we paid extra to our venue dresser for one that did not end up being used.
    * For our wedding breakfast, we requested to use the entrance through from the terrace via the bar, however the corridor entrance was used. The reason we were specific about this is because we knew that we were coming in from the Terrace and it was about the aesthetics and the flow of the day for us and our guests going through all the rear corridors made no sense. This was all agreed with our wedding coordinator but again completely missed (Perhaps these things may not have been missed if she had been there? Who knows but it gets worse!)
    * There was only one vegetarian meal to provide yet they were served the complete wrong meal!
    * The marquee was set up completely wrong! We were extremely specific about the way the layout of the marquee because it is such a big space and with our guest numbers in comparison to how many people this space accommodates, we did not want it to feel empty and wanted everyone in one area. Yet the tables were placed in completely the wrong place at one end of the Marquee resulting in the band being in the wrong place at the other end and the guests being split throughout the entire marquee which made it feel too big and empty for the intimate reception that we wanted. We were unable to change it because of the time it would take so we had to just keep it this way. This was genuinely heartbreaking to be honest and something we won’t be able to get over, it reduced me to tears on the night.
    * The starlight’s in the Marquee were not on for the majority of the evening and were not switched on until after our first dance, and after our videographer and photographer had left and so again the videos and pictures were significantly impacted by this, it seems small but the difference is huge and we get a constant reminder of it whenever we look at them. Not to mention again affecting the impression and experience for our guests.
    * The worst part of all of this is the way in which Nunsmere Hall have handled our complaint since. They have not shown any remorse, they have just made us feel like we don’t really matter now as they have made their money from us. It’s like we’re not real people and they just really don’t care that they ruined our day that we’ll never get back and that we paid them for because we trusted they would do it right. We tried really hard to maintain a relationship with them as it’s where we had our wedding at the end of the day and we wanted to be able to have special happy memories of it but it is just clouded by all the mistakes and the way we have been treated since. It is so sad but we have both agreed that we genuinely wish we had never chosen to hold our Wedding at Nunsmere Hall, and we whole heartedly wish that we had never trusted Boutique Hotel Group with our one special day. So my advice to anyone at this point is as pretty as their venues are, there are other beautiful venues. As much as they promise you the world, there are others that will actually deliver. Don’t pay them thousands of pounds to ruin your day like we did!
  • A
    Annabel Sent on 09/12/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The most perfect day... ever!

    Nunsmere Hall is the most perfect venue we could have ever chosen. We had such a lovely day and were spoilt rotten by all of the staff. Everyone was so friendly and tentative. Guests really enjoyed the fact we had the whole venue to ourselves and could freely move between rooms. The food was fantastic. We would definitely recommend Nunsmere. Amazing!
  • R
    Rebecca Sent on 19/04/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The wedding ran like clockwork.

    I had my wedding here last Friday and it was amazing from start to finish. The wedding ran like clockwork. The food was amazing and the staff so professional and efficient we really couldn’t fault Nunsmere Hall in anyway we would recommend this as a venue to anyone who is wanting a truly amazing wedding from start to finish!! I just want to do it all again!! Thank you to everyone who helped make our day so special last Friday! Rebecca and Michael xx
illustration stars

Did the reviews win you over?

Send a message