Matfen Hall Verified Reviews

138 | Belsay Hall (Tyne & Wear)
View More Information

138 Reviews for Matfen Hall

Recommended by 100% of couples · Write a Review

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of the Service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value for Money 5.0
  • Response time 5.0

Badges

13 User photos

  • Mrs Courtney D

    Courtney Dixon · Married on 14/03/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect Spring Wedding at Matfen Hall

    We were married at Matfen on 14th March 2020 and we couldn’t have picked a more perfect venue. It was the first venue we saw, and from the moment we stepped into the Great Hall we knew it was the one for us. It’s such a romantic setting and the new refurbishments only add to the wonderful charm of Matfen Hall. Laura, our wedding coordinator was so helpful and lovely throughout the whole planning process and she was always there to answer my millions of questions. The day before our wedding (the dreaded Friday 13th) we found out our honeymoon was cancelled (we were due to fly the day after our wedding), so there was a lot of running around trying to sort things out. When we finally arrived at Matfen - later than we had hoped - we were feeling stressed and a bit deflated, but Max (our brilliant Master of Ceremonies), told us they were giving us the bridal suite for an extra night – such a kind and thoughtful gesture which was greatly appreciated and shows just how much they care. The day itself was wonderful – everything went smoothly (massive thanks to Max for that) – the staff were brilliant and the food delicious. Max went above and beyond for us, even manning the photo booth later in the evening, she truly made it a completely stress free day! We can’t wait to visit Matfen Hall again and look forward to putting our lock on the bridge! Thanks again to all the staff for making our day so magical! Love Mr & Mrs Dixon

    Sent on 06/08/2020
  • M

    Matt and Matthew Rayson · Married on 18/01/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Where do we even begin!

    Where do we even begin!

    We are just returning home after getting married at this stunning venue on Saturday! I can honestly say if you have gotten engaged and are looking for the perfect place, then look nowhere else than Matfen Hall. The first moment you walk in you are treated like family till the moment you leave!

    From start to finish our wedding planner Victoria has been a superstar and total made us feel at ease for the day. The day itself was just so perfect and Matfen Hall couldn’t do any more for us. It has etched a memory into our lives that we simply won’t forget!

    Personal thanks goes to Peter and Jackie for keeping us calm all day! A big thanks also goes to Des who nearly every member of our guests said he was a superstar.

    The prosecco record will take a while to beat I feel! Again look nowhere else, this place is da bomb!

    Matt and Matthew Rayson

    Sent on 22/01/2020
  • K

    Kaz & Marc · Married on 03/01/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am so so pleased we chose Matfen

    Just wanted to say a quick massive thank you for all your help arranging our wedding. I can’t even tell you how amazing it was, how seamlessly everything ran and how brilliant all the staff were!!
    I’m still buzzing from it now! I’m so so pleased we chose Matfen and I’ll definitely be recommending it to everyone! Absolutely cannot wait for the photos!

    Sent on 12/02/2020
  • C

    Claire & Rob · Married on 21/12/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Literally the best day of our lives

    I just wanted to message and say a huge Thank You to you and everyone else at Matfen who made our wedding experience so fantastic. We had the most amazing day and each and every member of staff we spoke to or who was involved in the day were so kind, polite and made us feel so relaxed, happy and special. One waiter even came to find Rob and I at the end of his shift just to say he hoped we'd had a lovely day (apologies that I didn't get his name). Every guest complimented the venue and they were very impressed by the food. The decorations looked fantastic and were set out beautifully and I am in love with the bridal suite - it is the best room I've ever stayed in!
    We've loved every second of planning and meeting with yourself as well as staying the day after our wedding and putting our lovely new lock onto the bridge - such a nice touch along with the beautiful painting to remind us of the day.
    Thank you all for providing us with such wonderful life-long memories and literally the best day of our lives.

    Sent on 12/02/2020
  • M

    Mr & Mrs OMalley · Married on 30/11/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Matfen will always hold a special place in our hea

    Thank you all so much for everything you all did for us throughout the build up and on the big day.

    Victoria and Max are two of the most lovely, supportive and helpful people we have worked with throughout our wedding process and we are so happy they were able to play such an important role in our big day.

    Matfen will always hold a special place in our hearts!

    Sent on 12/02/2020
  • A

    Annie & Ed · Married on 02/11/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The whole weekend was incredible!

    The whole weekend was incredible and Saturday itself was perfect! I honestly can't thank you or any of the staff enough for making it as perfect as it was! So many of the guests had so many compliments for the staff and the food, which was divine!! We are definitely planning on coming back for another stay and to put our lock on the bridge.

    Sent on 07/11/2019
  • N

    Natalie & Connor · Married on 31/10/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was an amazing day!

    It was an amazing day!

    We would like to thank Matfen Hall for such an amazing day, all the staff were brilliant and so helpful!

    Thanks again for an amazing day!

    Natalie and Connor X

    Sent on 07/11/2019
  • M

    Mr & Mrs Yates · Married on 24/10/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had the best day of our lives!

    Thank you so much. We had the best day of our lives. Everything went to plan and it was even better than we expected!

    Sent on 07/11/2019
  • M

    Mr & Mrs Nicholson · Married on 05/10/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    So special in every way!

    Thank you for helping to make our wedding day so special in every way!

    A special thank you to Des, you made sure everyone had a lovely day.

    Matfen Hall will always be a special place! xxx

    Sent on 17/10/2019
  • A

    Amy & Lewis · Married on 28/09/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The whole day was just faultless!

    We both had an absolutely incredible wedding and loved the whole day. We couldn't have asked for more from the staff as you all made everything so easy and simple and the whole day was just faultless.

    We'll definitely be back sometime soon!

    Sent on 17/10/2019