Hawkwell House Hotel Verified Reviews

24 | Sanford On Thames (Oxfordshire)
View More Information

24 Reviews for Hawkwell House Hotel

Recommended by 100% of couples · Write a Review

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of the Service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value for Money 4.9
  • Response time 4.9

Badges

  • E

    Elizabeth and Kevin · Married on 02/08/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thank you to the Hawkwell House team

    We would like to thank everyone who was involved in our special day. We had a fantastic time and everyone enjoyed themselves

    Sent on 20/09/2019
  • L

    Lea and Michael · Married on 13/07/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Back to our wedding day...

    It was very special day not only for us but for our guest as well, they really enjoyed the day.
    It was exactly as we hoped its going to be.

    Our guest complimented us a lot reg.ceremony, food and entertainment ideas.
    We would like to thank you, your wedding manager who help us a lot go through the day very smoothly.

    Once again thank you very much it was really lovely to have our wedding at your venue.

    Sent on 20/09/2019
  • C

    Cherie and Lee · Married on 22/06/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A big thank you to all of Hawkwell House

    I'm talking, from the moment you walk through the door and greeted and meted, you are announced with a smile. From the reception service, to the bar service, through to the coordinators and bar staff. The evening team, and the night squad, all of you played the part for Cherie and myself to have the best wedding ever provided.
    This day was truly brilliant. It could not be faulted.

    The day was even better as the sun came out and blessed us all. But without you guys, this would not had been as good because as we know, all our friends and family all enjoyed this day, so without you. It would not had been so special.

    one last thing...never throw away your beef chef, wow, everyone that ate the beef absolutely fell over heels for it, even if it was served cold (which it was not may I add) it would not matter, it would be eaten for many orders to come. the canapes through to the buffet was also mentioned as being very tasteful.
    Thank you from Cherie and myself...

    Sent on 25/06/2019
  • W

    Wendy and Arome · Married on 31/05/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a wonderful Wedding day !!!

    We had a wonderful Wedding Day at Hawkwell House. The day (and lead up) was well arranged and executed. We really appreciated the flexibility in accommodating all our requests and tailoring the day to our needs.

    Thank you to all Hawkwell House Wendy and Arome.

    Sent on 28/06/2019
  • D

    Donato and Antoaneta · Married on 05/05/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very nice experience at Hawkwell House.

    Our experience for our Wedding with Hawkwell house hotel has been very nice, they have a very good organisation.
    Alejandra has been our wedding planner, she is very professional and very great communicator, during our meeting she prepared us to make sure that everything would have been fine, also she has been so kind to be there during our ceremony to make sure that everything was fine.
    All the team have been very helpful, they realised all our requests.
    Hawkwell house hotel is very nice place, with parking or the guests, very welcoming place, nice garden, if you are lucky with weather you can use it for ceremony outside, if not you can use it to take amazing pictures outside.
    Nice bar service, our ceremony room and lounge room for the lunch are very clean and nice, both of them have been set up with colour and decorations about our requests.
    Hawkwell house hotel can provide to give you contacts regarding dj, decorations, flowers.
    DJ service was very good and very professional, they followed all our instructions regarding music during ceremony and for our first dance.
    Regarding the food, it is very nice and high quality, all our guests have been very happy regarding it.
    Thanks to the team at Hawkwell House.

    Sent on 02/07/2019
  • K

    Kieran Grieves · Married on 05/04/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thank You! Thank You! Thank You!

    My husband (!!!!) was originally from Oxford and has always loved the area so after he popped the question (after 12 years of waiting) we knew we wanted to get married in the area. We came across Hawkwell House and fell in love...again!

    Nothing has ever been too much trouble for the team. The grounds are beautiful for pretty much a city centre hotel and it was easy to get to for all of the guests getting here from around the UK.

    We had the service and reception at Hawkwell House and were totally looked after, Alejandra worked with us brilliantly in coordinating all the details...not easy when mother keeps inviting guests! She is already on my Christmas card list and Gyula with his Operations team didn't rest until we did (in fact they probably worked after we rested to set up for the much needed breakfast in the morning).

    Thank you from the bottom of my Heart for myself and Jimmy for taking such good care of us and putting the icing on our wedding cake!!!!

    Sent on 12/04/2019
  • L

    Louise Merry · Married on 27/12/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing

    We got married on 27th December 2016 and cannot praise the staff at Hawkwell House enough! To say they made our dream wedding is an understatement. Not only is the venue beautiful and made a perfect Winter Wonderland venue for our special day but the staff were outstanding. Between booking our wedding and the big day, the hotel was taken over and all staff were changed. However, these changes proved to be huge positives as Kayleigh (the Events and Wedding Coordinator) and the General Manager Darren were absolutely fantastic. All questions and queries were answered quickly and efficiently without any fuss. We wished to release pre-lit balloons and Kayleigh researched it and sent me the form that needed to be submitted to ensure we weren't contravening any Civil Aviation rules. The day before the wedding, my wedding party and I arrived to do a mock-up table in the reception room. Darren arranged for complimentary drinks and snacks which we thought was a lovely touch. We also received a beautiful hamper in our suite filled with lovely little gifts. On the day itself I genuinely didn't have to think about a thing as they had already thought of everything. It ran so smoothly and all the guest commented on how well coordinated it seemed. The food was top notch and even the last table served commented that the food was still piping hot. The DJ arranged by the venue had every single song we requested and was happy to play anything we asked. It was literally the best day of our lives and we owe a debt of gratitude to the staff at Hawkwell, especially Kayleigh and Darren. Words cannot express how happy we were with the outcome of the day and now we can't wait to start married life!

    Sent on 30/05/2017
  • K

    Kayleigh · Married on 10/12/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fantastic wedding venue

    We had our wedding here in December 10th and cannot complain about anything. Kayleigh and Darren were brilliant as so attentive and totally understood us as a couple.
    I would recommend getting married there to anyone who wants a fantastic time in a great venue... X

    Sent on 29/03/2017
  • C

    Cheryl · Married on 17/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wedding day delight

    ust had our wedding at Hawkwell house they made our day so wonderful nothing was too much trouble from start to finish all our guests complimented us on what a lovely venue it was for a wedding beautiful grounds lovely rooms and excellent service we were made to feel so special extra thanks to Darren for doing a first class job also for Charlotte for being so lovely we really felt like we had made new friends thanks again for making our wedding day amazing

    Sent on 13/10/2016
  • N

    Naomi · Married on 19/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fantastic

    We had our wedding reception at Hawkwell on the 19th August. We booked the venue back in March 2015 and chose Hawkwell because the wedding coordinator at the time was warm, friendly, down to earth and flexible - a rare find with Oxford venues for a summer wedding!
    We were concerned when our wedding coordinator told us he had handed his notice in in April 2016 and for a while our concerns were realised. As the hotel changed hands we saw a marked change in the level of service and degree of flexibility and we expressed our disappointment to the new wedding coordinator who had taken over arrangements. However we strongly feel that the mark of an excellent venue is not whether issues arise but whether they deal with them in a timely and effective way. They most certainly did. Darren was hired and we were blown away by his approach to customer service. When he sat down with us he really listened to our concerns and was completely solution led, to the point of revamping our entire menu (a special mention to Matt here, who produced outstanding and beautifully presented food) and giving us the freedom to personalise our venue in our own way, to avoid the 'hotel wedding' feel. Darren headed up a friendly and hospitable staff for the whole day and nothing was too much trouble. We had great feedback on the venue as a whole - most of our guests stayed over and were perfectly happy with the size, cleanliness and facilities of their rooms. At the end of it all we are glad we chose Hawkwell to host our wedding.
    ps. The honeymoon suite is incredible!

    Sent on 13/10/2016