Broadoaks Boutique Country House Verified Reviews

50 | Windermere (Cumbria)
View More Information

50 Reviews for Broadoaks Boutique Country House

Recommended by 100% of couples · Write a Review

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of the Service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value for Money 5.0
  • Response time 5.0

Badges

  • C

    Carole and Paul Buchanan · Married on 18/01/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fantastic winter weekend wedding venue for our day

    Fantastic wedding at Broadoaks on Saturday 18th January 2020. We had the venue booked for the whole weekend.Mel and Amber were really helpful with the wedding preparations ensuring all our needs were met.
    The night before was great and food delicious. The day itself went like clockwork Mel kept things calm and organised. The ceremony room looked gorgeous as did the orangery where we had our wedding breakfast.
    All our guests thoroughly enjoyed their stay all the rooms being different and all beautifully decorated was really quirky which we loved too.
    No wonder you have won awards Broadoaks, thank you for helping us make some fantastic memories which we will treasure. Thanks to all staff who were all helpful, friendly and always smiling. We will definitely be back. Carole and Paul Buchanan x

    Sent on 26/01/2020
  • C

    Cathy and Claire · Married on 29/12/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Perfect Day

    We had the wedding day of our dreams at Broadoaks, it was everything that we had wanted and much more. Darren took our first pre-wedding meeting and set the bar high. The events team made organising the day really straightforward. Viki, the deputy general manager was so helpful and friendly and helped us so much with resolving some of our more challenging questions.

    Amber was the most fabulous wedding co-ordinator, nothing was too much trouble and her attention to detail was first class. She even stepped in to avert a cup cake crisis on the day which we knew nothing about until later. We really cannot thank her enough.

    Our guests were absolutely bowled over by the beautiful bedrooms, their pristine presentation (thanks so much to Anne and the very caring and professional housekeeping team), the food was absolutely delicious and won plaudits from even our pickiest guests (our thanks to the very talented chef and kitchen team). We must say a big thank you too to Edward, our master of ceremonies who ensured that the wedding breakfast and evening reception ran like clockwork. A big thanks to Jim on reception ensured that all our guests received a very warm welcome. Mike on the bar, was hailed as a really lovely guy by so many of our guests.

    We cannot recommend Broadoaks highly enough, we had the most relaxed and amazing day with our guests. The whole Broadoaks team delivered absolute perfection.

    Sent on 12/01/2020
  • M

    Maureen · Married on 08/08/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Andrew and Natasha Wedding

    I just wanted to say a big thank you for a fantastic time we had at Andrew and Natasha’s wedding the venue was amazing.
    Everyone made us feel so special you all exceeded my expectations thank you once again.
    We are hoping to book up with yourselves next August for a couple of nights when would be the best time to arrange this xx

    Sent on 11/08/2019
  • D

    Danny and Andy McKeown-Henshall · Married on 23/02/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A Wedding in a 'not so' Winter Wonderland!!

    A perfect venue, a perfect weekend and yes, perfect staff. We planned a Wedding in a Winter Wonderland but got beautiful Feb sunshine!! Jo as our coordinator on the weekend was incredible from start to finish, other staff such as Jim, Dan, Mike, Costina and Robi to name but a few. A diverse mix of wonderful characters all of whom played an integral part in our wedding.

    Food was amazing - all guests complimenting the dishes and service was always swift. Nothing was to much trouble.

    The building itself is incredible - all the rooms were perfect and every detail was attended to.

    Broadoaks - you brought our dream to life! Thankyou.

    Sent on 03/03/2019
  • L

    Louise Jones · Married on 04/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sheer excellence

    We booked Broadoaks exclusive use package and spent the whole weekend in the most excellent hotel surrounded by attentive, happy to help staff.
    Our big day was 4th August 2018 and it was everything we dreamt of and more.
    We live outside of the U.K. And I spent months trying to plan via email. The events staff where so patient and understanding, in particular a wonderful lady called Jo. We where met with smiles and calm on the Friday and was instantly made to feel at ease. Nothing was too much to ask.
    The hotel itself is beautiful and the surrounding gardens where breathtaking. Every room has a different feel and the honeymoon suite is fabulous. Our wedding party was 100 people in total, 24 of which where children. They where catered for so well and never made to feel in the way.
    I had my heart set on an outdoor wedding and thankfully the weather was glorious. The main room set up for the wedding breakfast was perfect and having over run on the speeches the staff pushed everything back a little to ensure the evening ran smoothly and didn't feel rushed. I cannot recommend Broadoaks enough for anyone wanting the perfect setting for thier special day.

    Sent on 07/08/2018
  • M

    Mr & Mrs Palamountain · Married on 14/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The most amazing & magical day

    Where to start from the moment we drove up the beautiful drive we were blown away, Broadoaks has such a homely feel that instantly makes you feel part of the place. Little Jo was our wedding planner she made us feel like nothing was too much trouble she was amazing. Our day was not like normal weddings as we were wanting a more relaxed and informal wedding, Jo was fantastic with helping to plan our day, it was definitely a tailor made package with a difference. We booked Glen Anderson as our wedding singer and David Goodier Photographer from their approved suppliers and we were not disappointed they were fantastic. During our day & time spent there all the staff went that extra mile nothing was too much trouble. We chose the BBQ option and it was amazing and every guest commented on it. We loved having the venue exclusive to ourselves. I really felt like our day was important to them. I would do it all again if I could & I wouldn't change a thing. Thank you Little Jo & the Broadoaks Family xxx

    Sent on 23/07/2018
  • A

    Amy · Married on 01/03/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thank everyone who made our big day truly magical.

    You’re ALL real life superheroes!! Every member of staff working at the hotel did their utmost to make sure everything ran as smoothly as possible - above and beyond any level of customer service I’ve ever experienced in my life. You really have something special, don’t ever change!

    Chris our photographer was such a trooper for getting there and making us feel so comfortable. I’ve only seen one photo so far but it’s stunning and I cannot wait to see the rest. The lady who did the photo booth during the evening reception did a great job of keeping the guests entertained when they weren’t on the dance floor.

    John Penn, a complete diamond who tried his hardest to ensure he got to the wedding. He created such an amazing atmosphere and made it completely unforgettable. I know I’m biased but it was the best party I’ve ever been to!

    Yvonne and her partner from Ambiance were so lovely. They made Broadoaks look spectacular - and so sparkly which looked stunning alongside the winter wonderland theme!

    Jo and Lisa who did my hair and makeup were so lovely and reassuring. They really helped keep me together when we were still uncertain if the registrar was going to make it. The saying ‘the show must go on’ was certainly fitting for our day and they embodied that motto so well.

    Our registrar has never met us before, but called in so many favours to make sure he got to the venue on time to marry us. Without him, the other registrar and the lovely gents from Cumbria fire and rescue service there would be no wedding at all. For their kindness we’ll be forever grateful.

    Sent on 13/03/2018
  • A

    Amy Phillips · Married on 28/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hidden Gem in the Lake District Whilst most of the

    Whilst most of the country was under the grip of the beast from the east my family were making the drive to this lovely hotel. From arrival to departure the staff went above and beyond any level of customer service I’ve ever experienced. My wedding co-ordinator Darren ensured everything went off without a hitch, as we’d planned during our meetings beforehand. He’d really taken the time to understand our requirements. On the big day so much snow had fallen there was a real possibility of the wedding not going ahead. My hair and makeup girls couldn’t make it through. But I needn’t have worried because the hotel had everything covered with the help of their in house 4x4. Another hair and makeup supplier were sourced within an hour, and by some miricle the rest of the suppliers also made it one by one. The registrar also got a lift to the venue through the kindness of Cumbria fire and reacue service - so our wedding crisis was averted! From that point onwards everything went perfectly. Following the dramas of the morning all the staff at Broadoaks really made sure myself and my husband Damon were able to relax and enjoy the rest of our day. Everyone was so friendly which makes a massive difference to the atmosphere created on the day. It almost felt as if they were enjoying the day as much as we were! The snow itself made the hotel look even more picturesque and magical than it did without. This meant we were able to capture some breathtaking photos in and around the hotel grounds. A true fairytale wedding - I couldn’t recommend this hotel enough. If your in any doubt about booking Broadoaks- I’d attend one of their regular wedding fayres. Hope this helps!!

    Sent on 08/04/2018
  • E

    Elena · Married on 24/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The most amazing day

    Where to start from the moment we drove up the beautiful drive we were blown away. Jo was so amazing and we were totally refreshed by her open honest approach and enthusiasm. From the ups and downs of planning the wedding Broadoaks helped wedding plan and even counsel us up until the big day. My husband had huge anxiety about the big day and they couldn’t do enough to support us. Every member of staff went that extra mile. The food was amazing and every guest commented on it. Having it exclusivity meant it felt so personal. Despite the fact that they clearly have a lot of weddings I really felt like our day was important to them. I would do it all again if I could. We also now have the most amazing hotel to revisit for anniversaries.

    Sent on 07/04/2018
  • M

    Mr & Mrs Dixon · Married on 17/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fabulous venue

    My husband and I got married at Broadoaks and hired the venue for the weekend. From start to finish ourselves and our guests were made to feel welcome and the whole event felt informal and relaxed - just how we wanted it. The food was absolutely out of this world and on the arrival night in particular, the size of the portions were fantastic. Our wedding breakfast was a four course gourmet meal which was just stunning and extremely filling. Quite a few of our guests told us it was the best wedding breakfast they’d ever had. The staff made sure everything ran smoothly and without issue, they couldn’t have done anymore for us. The house itself is beautiful and the grounds and views breathtaking - we had a fantastic stage for photographs that’s for sure! We stayed in the retreat which is separate from the main house, it’s luxurious and very beautiful and also comes with two lovely sunken baths - one inside and one out! The other rooms are all different, with an individual quirky feature in each, all of our guests loved them. We’d highly recommend anyone to get married here, it really was a magical experience.

    Sent on 05/04/2018