Barbican Centre Verified Reviews

10 | City of London (East Central London)
View More Information

10 Reviews for Barbican Centre

Recommended by 100% of couples · Write a Review

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of the Service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value for Money 4.9
  • Response time 4.9

Badges

  • C

    Chris · Married on 07/01/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    an iconic London landmark

    Working with the Barbican in the run up to our wedding was a total pleasure. The entire experience remained relaxed and stress free. All our requirements were accommodated and the result was a very personal evening. Everyone was impressed by the conservatory - it felt very special to be celebrating in a lush green environment in early January! To be in an iconic London landmark, spectacularly lit was truly memorable. The catering and service was excellent and we're very grateful to all the team.

    Sent on 13/03/2017
  • E

    Emma · Married on 10/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our perfect venue

    The Barbican Conservatory was an incredibly special setting for our wedding. We'd seen other potential venues but when we visited the Barbican, we knew we'd found our perfect venue.
    On the day itself, all our guests commented on what a unique and beautiful venue we'd chosen for our wedding.
    The food was excellent quality and delicious - from the canapés to start to our evening food at the end
    The staff were wonderful and made sure that everything we'd planned went smoothly and were complete professionals in supporting us when a couple of surprises happened to!
    We are so happy we chose to have our wedding at the Barbican - I couldn't recommend it enough as a venue

    Sent on 03/10/2016
  • O

    Oliver

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The perfect setting for our wedding

    The venue was the perfect setting for our wedding, as we had hoped it would be, and all of our guests were very impressed by the space.

    A large number of guests have commented to us, on the day and since, how impressed they were with the standard of food and service. We really enjoyed our meal on the day, and were ourselves impressed by how smoothly the meal was delivered by your staff. We also appreciate how accommodating the team were in helping to lay out the finger food and cake for the evening, and our guests enjoyed having access to the conservatory space in the evening for this.

    Sent on 23/05/2016
  • A

    Agnes

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The whole day could not have been better

    We loved every second of our wedding at the Barbican Conservatory in November 2015. From the moment we first saw the Conservatory we knew that it would be the perfect place for us to get married and would give us and our guests a day that we would never forget – and we were right! Such an unusual venue, it looked fantastic both during the day and in the evening and we had so many compliments on it from our guests. The staff were brilliant – nothing was too much trouble for the events team, who were able to accommodate all our particular requests for the day so that we could make full use of the space. From the beautiful wedding ceremony in front of our family and friends among the tropical plants to live jazz and canapés on the mezzanine terrace, to a sit-down meal in the flower-filled Garden Room with food worthy of a five-star restaurant, through to dancing to a live band, an evening buffet and ‘one for the road’ in the fairy-lit Conservatory, the whole day could not have been better. Many, many thanks!

    Sent on 13/01/2016
  • J

    Jenny

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Nigel wanted to do it all again this weekend!

    Thank you for all of your work leading up to our wedding and to Tasmia for her wonderful organisation on the day. We had a really fantastic day and it all went by terribly quickly. Everyone I spoke to commented on how great the food was (so huge thanks to the chef and staff too!). Unfortunately my rather elderly father broke a tooth just before the wedding but he was able to swap from lamb, which would have been impossible for him to eat, to the vegetarian pasta on the day. I was particularly grateful to the kitchen for accommodating this as it meant he ate and wasn't stressed about breaking his tooth again! It's always the little things that make all the difference.
    Everything looked very beautiful when I arrived and we didn't have to worry about anything on the day as it was all taken care of. All the staff were friendly and helpful and worked incredibly hard to make our day as special as it was.
    Nigel wanted to do it all again this weekend!

    Sent on 21/12/2015
  • P

    Pam

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful setting, amazing food

    Our wedding at the Barbican was absolutely perfect. The venue itself is stunning and like nothing else in London (or anywhere else!). From start to finish the whole team were really great to work with on planning our day. If you want a wedding with a beautiful setting, amazing food and drink and staff that take all the pressure off you then the Barbican is for you!

    Sent on 21/12/2015
  • M

    Michael

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A wonderful and unique wedding setting

    I just wanted to email, on behalf of Nick and myself, to thank you and everyone else in the Searcys team, for making sure that we had the most perfect day on Saturday. We could not have been happier with the way we were looked after or the venue itself. The Conservatory provides the most wonderful and unusual setting for a wedding.

    Sent on 21/12/2015
  • N

    Natalie

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    An unusual and wonderful venue

    We had a fabulous wedding day at the Barbican. We hired the Conservatory and the Garden Room. The Conservatory was a magical setting for the civil ceremony, surrounded by tropical foliage, with tropical birds song as we said our vows, and beautiful places by pools with flashing carp amid the greenery where we mingled with our guests afterwards and took photographs, drank prosecco and ate canapes. For music in the Conservatory we hired a Cuban band (Yambu, booked from Salsa Direct - absolutely excellent and impressed even our very demanding musician guests). All very stylish and special. For the wedding breakfast we moved into Garden Room, the food was delicious, the waiting staff worked incredibly hard and efficiently so that everything ran smoothly ( including finding alternative food for guests who turned out to have undeclared dietary requirements...). We must add that from the outset Julia Woods and her team were very professional and listened to what we wanted but manged to set timelines that did not put us under pressure! From the tasting to our special day her staff and team were at our beck and call! Our guests commented on the special care and attention they received and paid lots of compliments on the food and wine. They also mentioned it was great not having to drive to the reception everything flowed! We danced afterwards in the other half of the Garden room whilst the children played in the Conservatory under the careful eye of the waiting staff so that they would not escape! Overall an unusual and wonderful venue in the center of London

    Sent on 12/05/2014
  • J

    Jody

    4.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value for Money:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    A magical setting for our wedding

    The Barbican Conservatory was a great and magical setting for our wedding. Our day was made extra special by the professionalism, support and advice from Julia Woods the Events Manager and the Barbican's catering manager Sabrina and her team. The venue is brilliant especially if you want your event to have that outdoor feel without having to rely on unpredictable British weather! Sam Braysher's jazz trio, Photographer Kris Piotrowski and DJ Simon Desborough, all recommended by the Barbican, were fantastic and excellent value for money. To make the Barbican a perfect Wedding venue Searcy's need to improve their wine list and have a lower corkage fee if you supply your own wine as we did.

    Sent on 12/05/2014
  • A

    Amy

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had the most wonderful day of our lives...

    We got married at the Barbican in September 2013 and we had the most wonderful day of our lives. Julia Woods, who had been our point of contact at the Barbican throughout all the organizing of the day was fantastic. Her calm and friendly approach was really appreciated. We met several times at the venue in the run up to talk through details. Thankfully, Julia was far more organized than we were and made sure we had all the details agreed and sorted in advance. The catering and service staff did a fantastic job on the day. Sabrina’s attention to small details really made a difference – from suggesting extra cushions for guests to sit on during the service to setting out our cheese cake and sides. The food was superb, just as we’d tried at the tasting and it was all served promptly. All the waiting staff were friendly, efficient and very accommodating. My mother in-law uses a wheelchair and the staff made sure everything was set up so she could move easily and enjoy the day. The Conservatory at the Barbican is a really magical place to get married and we would definitely recommend it to anyone considering it for their special day.

    Sent on 12/05/2014