Abbey Hall Verified Reviews

5 | Eye (Suffolk)
View More Information

5 Reviews for Abbey Hall

Recommended by 100% of couples · Write a Review

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of the Service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value for Money 5.0
  • Response time 5.0

Badges

  • K

    Katie · Married on 31/08/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    An Evening to Remember....

    Beautiful Abbey Hall was the setting for a joint celebration for two big family birthdays - a 21st and a 50th and provided the most spectacular and intimate backdrop. Drinks and canapés were served in the setting sun as we looked over the stunning water meadows in the field adjacent; with the cows grazing and the reeds gently swaying in the breeze it was the epitome of Suffolk loveliness.

    The barn itself is infinitely adaptable with a big hall (we sat 94 for our party), with dance floor and stage plus a gallery area that is just perfect for escaping to chat. The hundreds of lit candles everywhere looked enchanting as darkness fell - and it was wonderful that this was not only allowed, but both supplied and encouraged.

    Olivia and Gary were wonderful throughout the planning of the party, during the event and afterwards and we can't recommend the venue more highly. If you're looking for a unique, historic and beautiful location that will be completely yours for as long as your occasion requires, look no further!

    Sent on 02/09/2019
  • M

    Megan · Married on 01/06/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Abbey Hall Wedding

    We were fortunate enough to hear about Abbey Hall through a mutual friend of the owners of this venue. We knew immediately that we would get married there. Abbey Hall is not any ordinary wedding venue. This medieval barn has been lovingly restored with impeccable attention to detail (my husband is an architect so this was a massive draw for us). Olivia and Gary (the owners) have created a cool contemporary feel, without losing any of the charm of the original building. I feel that so often wedding venues lose the personal feel, appearing to be churning out one wedding after another. This is certainly not the case for Abbey Hall. The venue is exclusively yours for the wedding and the days surrounding it, there is scope to be creative with the space and the owners are the most wonderful hosts. They are a fountain of knowledge and are able to advise on wedding suppliers and are helpful throughout the planning process. On top of this, they were on hand to help on the day of the wedding and assisted with everything from venue styling to problem solving electrical issues. They went above and beyond to give us the best day possible and we will forever feel grateful for this. We can not recommend Abbey Hall highly enough. Our personal highlights of this incredible space include; the setting (it overlooks meadows, on which the sun sets low, giving the most spectacular sunsets), the way the sunlight changes in the Hall during the course of the day (we had the most incredible warm sunlight flood in as the sun was setting) and the relaxed, personal nature of the venue. The most wonderful wedding venue in every way.

    Sent on 26/06/2019

    Abbey Hall's reply:

    Dear Megan and Seb,

    thank you for this wonderful review. It was a delight to help you create your magical wedding. We wish you all the happiness and love for your future.

    Come back on your anniversary and stay in the shepherds hut for free! Just call me !

    Warmest regards,

    Olivia
  • B

    Barbara · Married on 08/12/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great do!

    Looking for the perfect place to hold a 100 strong big birthday party we found Abbey Hall just outside Eye and what a find it turned out to be. Perfect in size and in a beautiful setting it is a stylish yet practical conversion of a medieval brick barn with a grand space for mingling and dancing, plus a mezzanine balcony level that provided a wonderful escape space for the children while the grownups chatted, danced, drank and munched below. Exquisite canapés kept arriving through the evening (prepared by Master Chef Tristram Abbs and his most talented team). We were mesmerised by stunning fireworks, serenaded by Paul McClure (a very gifted singer song-writer), sustained by wonderful food and plied with excellent beverages. The entire event from start to finish was beautifully choreographed and managed by our hosts Olivia and Gary supported by a team of polite and attentive waiting staff. A perfect venue and a perfect team, thank you, we will be back now we have found you.

    Sent on 13/12/2018
  • F

    Farquhar · Married on 01/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The best wedding ever

    We certainly had the most wonderful day when our son was married in the wonderful Abbey Hall. It is an astounding place. You feel you're standing in the middle of a painting by Constable - the view over the fields to the delightful town is perfect. The barn is very grand, beautifully restored, with a lovely informal gallery. It is set in beautiful gardens rolling into fields. Gary and Olivia thought of every possible thing and more ~ the place was dressed elegantly ~the catering was excellent ~ they even organised astonishing weather!
    I can't think of a more delightful place to celebrate any grand event, or better people than Gary and Olivia to help you make a perfect day.

    Sent on 17/12/2018
  • M

    Mel · Married on 29/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Magical setting

    My daughter married in Eye in July 2017, and had her marriage blessed by her grandfather under the 500 year old oak tree in the grounds of Abbey Hall, surrounded by family and friends. It was a truly special occasion.

    They were able to decorate the stunning 15th century Abbey Hall to their own design, providing an intimate and personal setting, and the owners could not have been more helpful.

    The recommended caterers were amazing - helpful and professional throughout the whole process, and only too willing to adapt menus to suit the event.

    There is a wide range of hotels and B&Bs, as well as self catering options, to suit any budget - and all within a 10 minute drive - so our 100 guests were all able to find accommodation.

    I would definitely recommend Abbey Hall - it is a very special place with a unique atmosphere in a lovely market town in the stunning Suffolk countryside - and we were made to feel special throughout.

    Sent on 12/12/2018