Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

E
Savvy August 2019

Honeymoons and wedding gift sites

ExpensivePinkCars56269, 8 of July of 2018 at 14:35 Posted on Planning 0 5

Hi all,

I'm wondering if anyone has an tips or advice surrounding wedding gift sites and honeymoons? We are getting married next August and want to go on honeymoon 3 days after the wedding (Married on Friday, aim to fly Monday or Tuesday) to give us 14 nights away. My other half is a teacher and I'm a nurse so getting chunks of time off is tricky and we have to go away in school holidays so the summer is prety much the only time we can go away for 2 weeks (with travel either side) which makes it more expensive!

We love adventure and are not really an all inclusive by the beach type people. We are hoping to go to either Costa Rica or Africia as we are both into photography and wildlife and hope to see some nature and beautiful sites whilst we are there. We have had a look at trial finders as they seem to offer some good deals with private tours and also a honeymoon fund.

We have lived together for the last 8 years and don't need any gifts for our home so we are thinking of asking our guests for money if they want to buy us a gift. What I'm not sure about is whether a honeymoon fund through the travel agents is the best option as we will still have to pay upfront for the honeymoon and although you can use the funds to contribute this won't be until after the wedding, by which time if there is any money as extra we will be stuck with having to use it on another trip with trial finders.

What sites have other people used and how do they work exactly? We know we will be able to afford our honeymoon but with all the big payments and deposits involved with the wedding we do plan to book it on our credit card and then pay it back later.

Any suggestions?

Thanks Smiley smile

5 replies

Latest activity by InformalBride, 16 of July of 2018 at 12:59