Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

MrsHappilyEverAfter
Beginner June 2013

I am in a terrible predicament!

MrsHappilyEverAfter, 18 of September of 2012 at 16:47 Posted on Planning 0 17

Hi Everyone,

I am in a horrible situation. I was originally getting married in July next year and because I now work in a school Ive changed the date to 1st June as I have 2 weeks off school holidays. I wasn't happy that I'd have to work the day before the wedding and then go straight back on the Monday so the new date is much better.

Anyway, after confirming it all with the church, venue and photographer (successfully) I realised that the 1st is my aunties birthday. I messaged her to let her know that my wedding was now that day and apoligised as I hadn't realised it was her birthday.

I got a reply which basically said she had already booked a venue for her birthday (40th) and that my grandparents already knew about it as she'd had it planned a while. (news to me) I just feel like shes tried to manipulate me by mentioning my grandparents in her reply. It was like she was trying to say, change YOUR wedding or else your grandparents won't be coming.

I am really upset.

I don't really know what to do. My OH said there no way we should change our date as we chose it as it suited US.

I just can't seem to think of anyway around this. Any advice?

17 replies

Latest activity by Kjay, 30 of September of 2012 at 13:25
  • rachel2012
    Expert June 2024
    rachel2012 ·
    • Hide content

I think it will be a lot easier for her to change her birthday than it will be for you 2 change your wedding, specially since you have valid reasons for having it on that date. as previously said I can't see your grandparents choosing a birthday over a wedding as you can celebrate a birthday on any day really in many different ways, weddings not so much.

• karenanne229
    Beginner October 2013
    karenanne229 ·
    • Hide content