Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

C
Beginner July 2008

Opening mail that is addressed to someone else and the law.

choicey, 27 of February of 2009 at 22:36 Posted on Off Topic Posts 0 20

Does anyone know the law regarding the above?

Long story short, I keep receiving mail for someone who used to live at this address. I was advised by bailiffs not to return to sender as this is never acted upon, but to save visits from the bailiffs, open the mail and contact the sender direct by phone or letter. I have today been told by another creditor, what I am doing is illegal and the bailiffs should never have advised me to do this.

Does anyone know the legal position?

Thanks in advance

20 replies

Latest activity by Serendipity, 28 of February of 2009 at 20:10
  • D
    Dopper2 ·
    • Hide content

I'm not a lawyer, but I thought it was illegal to open mail addressed to other people. Organisations do act on return to sender mail - I used to get piles everyday and now only get about a letter every 6 weeks. However, creditors may be less willing to accept it. Can you return to sender with a suggested alternative address for the actual recipient?

• KJX
    Beginner August 2005
    KJX ·
    • Hide content

You shouldn't be opening it - is the long and short of it.

But.... I do open mail adressed to one particular lot who used to live here as I've had bailiffs round for them. I don't know who would prosecute you if they felt that way inclined though.

• Melancholie
    Beginner December 2014
    Melancholie ·
    • Hide content