Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

F
Savvy July 2018

Caterer - Can you haggle?

FutureMrsT123, 22 of June of 2017 at 10:01 Posted on Planning 0 5

Hi all,

were due to meet our caterers for the first time on Sunday, and this is where a large chunk of the budget is going as our venue insists on using their own in house caterers. I just wondered how much "haggle" room there is with this sort of situation. Of course, they know we're using them so they're not going to be worried about losing business, but at the same time we'll be spending quite a lot on them! Has anyone had this before and got any tips or hints as to what's acceptable to ask, or not ask, or how much you can realistically barter with them?

Im not good at haggling as it is ? So just don't want to put my foot in it! Tips on the right way to phrase things also greatly appreciated! Thanks xxx

5 replies

Latest activity by FutureMrsT123, 23 of June of 2017 at 20:12
  • H
    Beginner May 2018
    HappyBrownConfetti849 ·
    • Hide content

If it's a package, there's probably no haggle room to be honest, but you can always ask. It depends on if you're asking them to serve expensive food as well.

The best course of action in my mind would have been to ask the venue if the caterers were flexible on price, because the venue would be more willing to compromise in order to get the booking, especially "off peak"

As long as you're polite about it i can't see any harm in asking, what sort of food are you having?

• F
    Savvy July 2018
    FutureMrsT123 ·
    • Hide content

Ahh thanks, good point. We did know the prices at the time of booking to, so obviously we have budgeted for it but it's always just nice to get a bargain wherever you can! Didn't think of asking before we booked - think I was too in love with the venue to think!